IFPA – Alberta Provincial Pinball Championship


In conjunction with the IFPA (International Flipper Pinball Association) North American Championship Series held within the US, the Die Hard Pinball League (DHPL) hosts the Alberta Provincial Pinball Championship (APPC). IFPA tracks the WPPR (World Pinball Player Ranking) performance of players by results from each of the league and tournament events in the province and at the end of each calendar year the top 16 players with the most WPPR points from Alberta will qualify for the APPC.

Schedule & Fees:

The 2023 Alberta Provincial Pinball Championships scheduled for Saturday, January 20, 2024 at Arkadium Retro Arcade, in Sherwood Park, Alberta. The entry fee will be $30, and the top 4 winners in A – B division will receive plaques, all players will receive prize money based on the IFPA payout allocation. The winner of the A division will also have their name engraved in our annual trophy and have their name on a banner and that will be hung at our annual YEGPIN: Pinball and Arcade Expo.




The tournament is only open to the top 16 or 24 (based on IFPA criteria) players in the province.

Tournament Format:

The format is a head to head and you are guaranteed two rounds of play. All players start in the A division, if you win your first round or have a bye you will stay in the A division, if you lose your first game then you will be placed in the B Division. In the A Division the games are a best out of 7, in the B Division the games are a Best out of 7.

The APPC will follow the official rules as the North America IFPA Championship Series, found HERE.

Any questions please contact the DHPL at diehardpinball@gmail.com

NACS Qualification:

The winner of the APPC will be crowned the provincial champion, and will be eligible to represent the province at the North American Championship Series held at District 82 in De Pere, WI – 800 O Keefe Rd suite f, De Pere, WI 54115 on Thursday, March 7th, 2024.

Alberta Provincial Pinball Champions:

YearProvincial ChampionRunner Up
2016Ryan JamesDerek Thomson
2017Derek ThomsonPaul Sinclair
2018Doug TealeSheldon Fuchs
2019Dan HorneMike Wieschorster
2020Mike TzanakosGermain Mariolle
2022Mike TzanakosJeff Gully
2023Mike TzanakosDavid Johnston