Alberta Challenge Cup

Alberta Challenge Cup – “Battle of Alberta” is an annual ‘friendly’ pinball competition between the top players from the Calgary and Edmonton surrounding areas. The competition is organized by the Die Hard Pinball League, and is contested every year.

The tournament consists of 8 players from each side, competing in a best out of 3 games format. Players earn points for their team based on their finishing positions in these formats, with 20 points needed to claim the Alberta Challenge Cup.

The 2023 edition of The Alberta Challenge Cup will be held in Sherwood Park at Arkadium Retro Arcade on Saturday, April 29, 2022.  Calgary/Edmonton each alternate locations each year for this event.

The designated team captains for the event will be responsible for deciding which players will represent their team to try to win the cup for their affiliate.

Challenge Cup Format:

Round 1 – (8 Games, 1 Point each) – Split Finger Challenge

This is a Best out of Three match, each 2 player team plays head to head on one machine, highest score wins. First team to win 2 games earns a point for their squad.

Round 2 – (8 Games, 1 Point each) – Alternate Shot 

This is a Best out of Three match,  each 2 player team plays alternate shot on each ball on one machine, highest score wins. The player who played ball three in the first game, plays ball two in the second game and so on. First team to win 2 games earns a point for their squad.

Round 3 – (8 Games, 1 Points each) – Best Game 

This is a Best out of Three match, a 4 player team game is played the top score in the four player game wins the match for their team. First team to win 2 games earns a point for their squad.

Round 4 – (8 games, 2 Point each) – Match Play

This is a Best out of Three match on the assigned machine, a 2 player game head to head match is played, the top score in the game wins the match for their team. First team to win 2 games earns two points for their squad.

Round 5 – Tiebreaker

If the event is tied after all matches, a final battle will ensue. The team captains will designate one player on each team will have one last head to head showdown to determine the overall winner for the event. The winner of a coin toss will gets choice of machine or position.

Past ACC Results:

YearWinnerHostTeam Members
2015CalgaryEdmontonClark Dickson (c), Craig Danco, Dan Horne, Darren Krywolt, Dave Pidwerbeski, Johnny Fernandes, Scott Slen,Sean Danco
2016EdmontonCalgaryDerek Thomson (c), Rod Ferguson, Paul Labrash, Chad Lucyk, Jonathan Puckrin, Paul Sinclair, Mark Stephens, Gilles Touchette
2017CalgaryEdmontonDan Horne (c), Doug Teale, Darren Krywolt, Dave Pidwerbeski, Sheldon Fuchs, Adam Goodwin, John Kottmann,
Bryan Fitzpatrick
Sheldon Fuchs (c), Bryan Fitzpatrick, Dan Horne, Darren Krywolt, Doug Teale, Jack Staddon, John Kottmann, Wes Balla
2019EdmontonEdmontonDerek Thomson (c), Ryan James, Elie Kushner, Jordan Penner, Jonathan Puckrin, Paul Sinclair, Gilles Touchette, Mike Wieschorster
2021EdmontonEdmontonDerek Thomson (c), Kyle Harvey, Ryan James, David Johnston, Jordan Penner, Paul Sinclair, Gilles Touchette, Mike Wieschorster
2022CalgaryCalgaryTony Batti (c), Dan Horne, Darren Krywolt, Eric Moore, James McConnell, John Kottmann, Kevin Rutt, Wes Balla

Past WACC Results:

YearWinnerHostTeam Members
2019EdmontonEdmontonChrista Lucyk (c), Amanda Anderson, Sydney Harvey, Keri Puckrin
2021CalgaryEdmontonShawna Lee (c), Andrea Brumwell, Kate Hughson, Micaela Wolfe
2022CalgaryCalgaryAndrea Brumwell (c), Kate Hughson, Micaela Wolf, Shawna Lee

Challenge Cup Past Final Results:

2015 – Alberta Challenge Cup – Final Results
2016 – Alberta Challenge Cup – Final Results
2017 – Alberta Challenge Cup – Final Results
2018 – Alberta Challenge Cup – Final Results
2019 – Alberta Challenge Cup – Final Results

Event Schedule – April 30, 2022 

11:00am – Doors Open
11:00am – 11:45am – Practice Session
11:45am – 12:00pm – Rules and Introductions
12:00pm – 12:45pm – Round 1: Split Finger Format (Games 1-4)
12:45pm – 1:30pm – Round 2: Split Finger Format (Games 5-8)
1:30pm – 2:15pm – Round 1: Alternate Shot Format (Games 1-4)
2:15pm – 3:00pm – Round 2: Alternate Shot Format (Games 5-8)
3:00pm – 3:45pm – Round 1: Best Game Format (Games 1-4)
3:45pm – 4:30pm – Round 2: Best Game Format (Games 5-8)
4:30pm – 5:30pm – Match Play Format (Games 1-8)
5:30pm – 5:45pm – Presentations
6:00pm – 9:00pm – ACC Flipper Frenzy!!!!

Feel free to come out and cheer for your side as this event should showcase some of the best pinball players in the province.